Novels

Coming from Tor in 2018. . .

The Queens of Innis Lear

YA author Tessa Gratton's adult fantasy debut, THE QUEENS OF INNIS LEAR and a second novel set in the same universe, LADY HOTSPUR, have been acquired by Miriam Weinberg, at Tor, in a multiple offer situation for World English rights, with publication of THE QUEENS OF INNIS LEAR planned for Winter 2018. The deal was brokered by Laura Rennert at Andrea Brown Literary Agency.

Three sisters born under different stars, sharing the same tragic ancestry and ambitious destiny, vie with each other and with the kings who will be their allies, enemies, and pawns, in a dangerous, sexy, deadly game for power, ignited by the madness of a declining king and the reappearance of a bastard soldier who wants to tear it all all down.

Coming from McElderry in 2018. . .

Strange Grace

Ruta Rimas at Margaret McElderry Books/Simon & Schuster has snapped up Tessa Gratton’s YA STRANGE GRACE in a World rights pre-empt, with publication scheduled for Summer 2018. The deal was brokered by Laura Rennert of Andrea Brown Literary Agency.

Every seven years, the isolated, seemingly idyllic town of Three Graces sends their bravest and best teen boy into the Devil’s Forest to face the devil and almost always a terrible death, in exchange for prosperity. This year, though, a tradition of hundreds of years is broken when three teens with their own complicated loyalties, loves, and motives, two young men and a young woman, run into the forest. The devil they find is not the one they expect, and the secrets and lies they uncover turn the town and their hearts inside out.

A dark fairy tale for the 21st century, the lush and unsettling STRANGE GRACE explores the complicated ways duty, sacrifice, and destiny intersect with desire, power, and sexual identity.


The Blood Journals

Blood Magic

Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.

Order Blood Magic: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound



The Blood Keeper

For Mab Prowd, the practice of blood magic is as natural as breathing. It's all she's ever known. Growing up on an isolated farm in Kansas with other practitioners may have kept her from making friends her own age, but it has also given her a sense of purpose—she's connected to the land and protective of the magic. And she is able to practice it proudly and happily out in the open with only the crows as her companions. Mab will do anything to keep the ancient practice alive and guard its secrets. But one morning while she is working out a particularly tricky spell she encounters Will, a local boy who is trying to exorcise some mundane personal demons. He experiences Mab's magic in a way his mind cannot comprehend and is all too happy to end their chance meeting. But secrets that were kept from Mab by the earlier generations of blood magicians have come home to roost. And she and Will are drawn back together, time again by this dangerous force looking to break free from the earth and reclaim its own dark power.

Order The Blood Keeper: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound


The United States of Asgard

The Lost Sun

Fans of Neil Gaiman's American Gods and Holly Black's The Curse Workers will embrace this Norse-mythology-infused USA in book one of Gods of New Asgard. Seventeen-year-old Soren Bearskin fears both the past and the future. His father, a famed berserker warrior, went to prison after killing thirteen innocent people during a mindless battle-frenzy. Berserking is in Soren's blood, too: constant fevers and insomnia promise the power will explode in him any day. He's terrified of himself. When Baldur — Odin's son and the god of light — vanishes, Odin offers a boon to any who bring him news of his son. Soren sees his chance to change his fate: with that boon, he could ask Odin to strip berserking out of him forever. Along with Astrid Glyn, a teen prophet who's dreamed of Baldur's location, Soren takes off on a road trip across the United States of Asgard in search of the lost god and a new future.

Order The Lost Sun: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

The Strange Maid

Signy Valborn was seven years old when she climbed the New World Tree and met Odin Alfather, who declared that if she could solve a single riddle, he would make her one of his Valkyrie. For ten years Signy has trained in the arts of war, politics, and leadership, but the answer finally comes in the form of enigmatic poet Ned the Spiritless, who tells Signy she must kill a Greater Troll Mother and claim its heart. But when you follow the god of sacrifice and poetry, everything is a riddle, and nothing is safe. Unfortunately, Signy is running out of time. Accompanied by an outcast berserker named Soren Bearstar, she and Ned take off across the ice sheets of Canadia to hunt the mother of trolls and claim Signy's destiny—as monstrous as it may be.

Order The Strange Maid: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound



The Apple Throne

There is only one person in the whole world who remembers the famous prophet Astrid Glyn: the berserker Soren Bearstar. Ever since Astrid agreed to give up her life, her name, and her prophetic dreams to become Idun the Young, the almost-goddess who protects the apples of immortality in a secret mountain orchard, she's been forgotten by everyone. Everyone except Soren. For the last two years, he's faithfully visited her every three months. Then one day he doesn't come. Though forbidden to leave the orchard, Astrid defies the gods by escaping with a bastard son of Thor to find Soren. But ancient creatures are moving in the mountains beneath the country. They are desperate to leave the shadows and Astrid's quest might be the key they need. Not-quite-a-goddess, but no longer only a girl, Astrid finds herself in a situation where fate—and not just her own—lies in the balance. Is there a way to save herself and those she loves, or will this choice unravel the ancient magic holding the nine worlds together?

Order The Apple Throne: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound

The Weight of Stars

Gold Runner: A Novella of Goblins, Theft, and Teenage Gods

Lady Berserk: A Novella of Dragons, Trickster Gods, and Reality TV

Glory's Teeth: A Novella of Hungry Girls and the End of the World

Order The Weight of Stars: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound